A Study in Huck Lace

 

 

This is my latest project. A table runner in ‘Huck Lace’, the ecru table runner I made before was in the ‘Huck’ pattern. I thought with this darker gray cotton that the texture in the ‘Huck Lace’ pattern would be nice and help it to show up a bit more.

This has been a fun project, I have been practicing on my ‘Huck’ line of table runners for a bit now because I am selling them in my Etsy shop and want to be faster at making them. I think if I started in the morning I could complete on in about a day, if I stuck with it the entire time.

I am so hooked on weaving, it is all I think about or want to do lately. although I did spin some art yarn the other day which was fun and I will be posting on it next. I will definitely do more of that as well.

The next weaving project I am planning on is going to be dishtowels or tea towels which ever you prefer. I have purchased and just received some organic cotton and ‘Cottlin’ which is 60% cotton 40% linen, this is the best dish towel blend, you get the best of both worlds, absorbency and durability.

 

For some reason my color palette has been stuck in greens and blues for a while now. The photo on the left is the Cottlin and the right photo is organic cotton.

I cannot wait to show you a really cool project that is taken over all of my consciousness. I will have to make a simple loom and gather driftwood among other things for it but I am almost ready to show it to you. This project will bring my love of nature and weaving together in a fun creative way. I tend to be a very earthy person which is probably why I love green so much.

Alas, the garden is calling my name at the moment, spring is here on the Oregon Coast which means a lot of wind and rain, however it is still time for seed starting and getting the garden ready for planting as well.

Please feel free to comment and make suggestions. Let me know what your favorite colors are. Do you prefer a lot of color or more neutral tones?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

